The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is widely recognized as a reliable means of assessing the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication. This test is designed to give future IELTS candidates an idea of whether their English is at the required level.

IELTS is owned by three partners, Cambridge English Language Assessment, part of the University of Cambridge, the British Council and IDP Education Pty Limited, IELTS Australia. Further information on IELTS can be found on the IELTS website


IELTS consists of four components. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking tests. There is a choice of Reading and Writing tests according to whether a candidate is taking the Academic or General Training module.

Academic Module:

For candidates wishing to study at undergraduate levels, and for those seeking professional registration.

General Training Module:

For candidates wishing to migrate to an English-speaking country (Australia, USA, Canada, New Zealand, UK), and for those wishing to train or study at below degree level.

IELTS Format:

01 Listening (9) 4 Sections, 40 questions

30min.+10min (Transfer Time)

4 Sections, 40 questions

30min.+10min (Transfer Time)

02 Reading (9) 3 passages, 40 questions

60 minutes

3 sections, 40 questions

60 minutes

03 Writing (9) 2 Tasks, 60 minutes 2 Tasks, 60 minutes
04 Speaking (9) 3 Parts, 11-14 minutes 3 Parts, 11-14 minutes
Total Score 9 9